Faculty+Staff

Haghiri, Morteza, BSc, MSc (Tehran/Iran), PhD (Saskatchewan); professor, Environment & Sustainability (Economics)
Interim Dean

AS 3025 | 709.637.7166 | mhaghiri@mun.ca


Dawe, Paula; decanal assistant

AS 3024 | 709.637.6215 | pjdawe@mun.ca


Burton-Matthews, Jodeen; secretary

AS 3024 | 709.639.6549 | 7091.637.4098 | jlburton@mun.ca

Undergraduate Programs

Ndjiongue, Alain Richard
AS 387 l arndjiongue@mun.ca

 

Howell, Jared, PhD (Victoria); assistant professor (Limited-Term)

AS 3013 | 709.637.6284 | b99jajh@mun.ca

 

Garnier, Kevin per-course instructor

AS 367 | 709.639.6530 | t63kmg@mun.ca

Campbell, Christine, BSc (British Columbia), MSc (Alberta), PhD (Memorial); associate rofessor, Environmental Science (Biology)
AS 3016 | 709.639.6478 | p3cc@mun.ca

 

Cheema, Mumtaz, BSc (Hons.), MSc, PhD (University of Agriculture, Faisalabad, Pakistan), Postdoc (Iowa State University, Ames, US); professor and interim AVP Research & Graduate Studies, Boreal Ecosystems and Agricultural Sciences, Environmental Science
macheema@mun.ca

 

Cuss, Chad, PhD, Analytical Nanogeochemistry and Applied Chemometrics (Trent University)​; assistant professor, Environmental Science (Chemistry)

AS 251 | 709.639.2500 | ccuss@mun.ca

 

Doody, Karen, BSc Hons (Dalhousie), PhD (McGill); assistant professor, Environmental Science (Chemistry)

AS 3010 | 709.637.7310 | u06kmd@mun.ca


Fraser, Erin, BSc (Toronto), MSc, PhD (Western Ontario); associate professor, Environmental Science (Biology)

AS 241 | 709.639.2554 | erinf@mun.ca


Galagedara, Lakshman, BSc (Hons.) (University of Peradeniya), MAgri (Obihiro University), PhD (Guelph); professor, Environmental Science, Boreal Ecosystems and Agricultural Sciences (BEAS)
AS 3020 | 709.639.2545 | lgalagedara@mun.ca


Krishnapillai, Mano, BSc (University of Peradeniya), MPhil Agriculture (Postgraduate Institute of Agriculture), PhD (University of Manitoba); associate professor, Environmental Science (Earth Science)
AS 3018 | 709.637.6272 | n62mk@mun.ca


Liu, Chen, PhD (Florida); associate professor, Environmental Science (Chemistry)
AS 236 | 709.639.2550 | cl1466@mun.ca


Manful, Charles; assistant professor, Environmental Science (Biochemistry)

AS 255 | 709.639.2555 | cfmanful@mun.ca

 

Ouellet-Dallaire, Camille; assistant professor, Environmental Science, Environment & Sustainability

FC 2026 | 709.639.7598 | couelletdall@mun.ca

 

Shetranjiwalla-Merchant, Shegufta, Integrated MSc-PhD (Trent University); assistant professor, Environmental Science (Chemistry)

AS 240 | 709.639.2502 | sshetranjiwa@mun.ca

 

Sircom, Julie; associate professor, Environmental Science (Biology)
Program Chair

AS 3015 | 709.639.6515 | jsircom@mun.ca

 

Smeaton, Christina, BSc (Memorial-Grenfell Campus), MSc, PhD (Windsor), Post doctoral research (Waterloo); assistant professor, Environmental Science (Chemistry)
AS 226-C | 709.637.2549 | csmeaton@mun.ca


Sveshnikov, Dmitry, MSc (Moscow), PhD (Kiel); associate professor, Environmental Science (Biology)
AS 213 | 709.639.6528 | dsveshnikov@mun.ca


Unc, Adrian, BSc (Timisoara), MSc, PhD (Guelph), Postdoc (Ottawa); professor, Environmental Science, Boreal Ecosystems and Agricultural Sciences
FC 2020 | 709.637.7153 | aunc@mun.ca


Warkentin, Ian, BSc, PhD (Saskatchewan); honorary research professor, Environmental Science
709.637.6246 | ianw@mun.ca

 

Teaching Term Faculty

Mitchell, Jeremy; assistant professor, Environmental Science (Biology)

AS 215 | 7019.639.6579 | jsmitchell@mun.ca

Boateng, Kwabena, PhD (Alberta); assistant professor
kbboateng@mun.ca

 

Decker, Stephen, BA, MA (Memorial), PhD (University of British Columbia, Okanagan); assistant professor
Program Chair, Environment & Sustainability

FC 2022 | 709.639.6578 | sdecker@mun.ca

 

Cheema, Mumtaz, BSc (Hons.), MSc, PhD (University of Agriculture, Faisalabad, Pakistan), Postdoc (Iowa State University, Ames, US); professor and interim AVP Research & Graduate Studies, Boreal Ecosystems and Agricultural Sciences, Environmental Science

macheema@mun.ca

 

Ouellet-Dallaire, Camille; assistant professor, Environmental Science, Environment & Sustainability

FC 2026 | 709.639.7598 | couelletdall@mun.ca


Scott, Robert, BSc (Western University), MSc (University of Guelph), PhD (Clark University); associate professor, Environment & Sustainability
Director, Bonne Bay Aquarium & Research Station
AS 2023 | 709.639.2732 | robert.scott@mun.ca


Wu, Jianghua, BSc (Nanjing University), MSc (Nanjing University), GIS Graduate Certificate (University of Southern California), PhD (McGill); professor, Environment & Sustainability
AS 2022 | 709.639.2735 | jianghuaw@mun.ca

Faculty and staff who deliver the General Science program are drawn from across the School of Science and the Environment.

Bailey, Robert, MMath (Hons.) (University of Leeds), PhD (University of London); associate professor, Mathematics
Program Chair, General Science
AS 3022 | 709.639.6293 | rbailey00@mun.ca

 

Bailey, Robert, MMath (Hons.) (University of Leeds), PhD (University of London); associate professor, Mathematics
Program Chair, General Science
AS 3022 | 709.639.6293 | rbailey00@mun.ca

Gallant, Robert, PhD (Waterloo); associate professor, Mathematics
AS 3028 | 709.639.2564 | h79rpg@mun.ca


Howell, Jared, BSc, MSc (Memorial), PhD (Victoria); associate professor, Mathematics
AS 3013 | 709.637.6284 | b99jajh@mun.ca


Lam, Nguyen, PhD (Wayne State University); assistant professor, Mathematics
AS 226-B | 709.637.2176 | nlam@mun.ca


Milley, Rebecca, PhD (Dalhousie); associate professor
Program Chair, Mathematics
AS 3011 | 709.639.2596 | f12rgk@mun.ca


Vasilyev, Yevgeniy, BS, MS (Novosibirsk State University), PhD (University of Notre Dame); associate professor, Mathematics
AS 3016 | 709.637.7165 | yv2487@mun.ca

Dr. Vasilyeva, Olga, PhD (Ottawa); associate professor, Mathematics
AS 3014 | 709.639.2597 | ovasilyeva@mun.ca

 

Term Teaching Faculty

Izadi, Mohammadali; assistant professor, Mathematics

AS 314 | 709.639.2385 | mizadi@mun.ca

Please see Mathematics and Physics for faculty listings.

Aleksejevs, Aleksandrs, BSc, MSc (Latvia), PhD (Manitoba); professor, Physics
AS 3027 | 709.639.2701 | aa6118@mun.ca

 

Barkanova, Svetlana, BSc, MSc (Latvia), PhD (Manitoba); professor, Physics
AS 3021 | 709.639.6554 | sbarkanova@mun.ca


Dr. Rouleau, Pierre, BSc (UQAM), PhD (Alberta); associate professor
Program Chair, Physics
FC 2023 | 709.637.6294 | r6pr@mun.ca

Graduate Programs

Foley, Paul, BA (Hons.) (First Class) (Memorial), MA (Dalhousie University), PhD (York University); associate professor, Environmental Policy Institute
Graduate Officer, Master of Arts in Environmental Policy
FC 2018 | 709.639.2771 | pfoley@mun.ca


Klinke, Andreas, MA (University of Stuttgart), PhD (Darmstadt University of Technology); professor
Director, Environmental Policy Institute
FC 2016 | 709.639.4307 | aklinke@mun.ca

 

Richards, Garrett, BSc, BA, MES (Saskatchewan), PhD (Victoria); assistant professor & internship officer, Environmental Policy Institute
Graduate Officer, Transdisciplinary Sustainability
FC 2024 | 7091.639.6534 | alanr@mun.ca


Dr. Vodden, Kelly; professor, Environmental Policy Institute

AS 388 | 7019.639.2703 | kvodden@mun.ca

Core Faculty

Cheema, Mumtaz, BSc (Hons.), MSc, PhD (University of Agriculture, Faisalabad, Pakistan), Postdoc (Iowa State University, Ames, US); professor and interim AVP Research & Graduate Studies
Boreal Ecosystems and Agricultural Sciences, Environmental Science
macheema@mun.ca

 

Galagedara, Lakshman, BSc (Hons.) (University of Peradeniya), MAgri (Obihiro University), PhD (Guelph); professor, Environmental Science
Boreal Ecosystems and Agricultural Sciences (BEAS)
AS 3020 | 709.639.2545 | lgalagedara@mun.ca

 

Unc, Adrian, BSc (Timisoara), MSc, PhD (Guelph), Postdoc (Ottawa); professor, Environmental Science
Boreal Ecosystems and Agricultural Sciences
FC 2020 | 709.637.7153 | aunc@mun.ca

 

Affiliated Faculty

Fraser, Erin, BSc (Toronto), MSc, PhD (Western Ontario); associate professor, Environmental Science (Biology)

AS 241 | 709.639.2554 | erinf@mun.ca


Krishnapillai, Mano, BSc (University of Peradeniya), MPhil Agriculture (Postgraduate Institute of Agriculture), PhD (University of Manitoba); associate professor, Environmental Science (Earth Science)

AS 3018 | 709.637.6272 | n62mk@mun.ca


Sircom, Julie; associate professor, Environmental Science (Biology)

AS 3015 | 709.639.6515 | jsircom@mun.ca


Sveshnikov, Dmitry, MSc (Moscow), PhD (Kiel); associate professor, Environmental Science (Biology)

AS 213 | 709.639.6528 | dsveshnikov@mun.ca

 

Adjunct Professors

Arsenault, Andre
Forest Ecologist, Atlantic Forestry Centre
https://cfs.nrcan.gc.ca/employes/vue/andrears

Bowden, Joe
Research Scientist, Atlantic Forestry Centre
http://www.cfs.nrcan.gc.ca/employees/read/jbowden


Moise, Eric
Research Scientist, Atlantic Forestry Centre
http://www.cfs.nrcan.gc.ca/employees/read/emoise

 

Staff

Yuan, Tao

Research Lab Coordinator, Boreal Ecosystems Research Initiative

FC 1014 | 709.639.4896 | tyuan@mun.ca

Richards, Garrett, BSc, BA, MES (Saskatchewan), PhD (Victoria); assistant professor & internship officer, Environmental Policy Institute
Graduate Officer, Transdisciplinary Sustainability

FC 2024 | 7091.639.6534 | alanr@mun.ca

 

Affiliate Faculty

Affiliates at the School of Science and the Environment

Cheema, Mumtaz Akhtar

macheema@mun.ca

 

Cuss, Chad

ccuss@mun.ca

 

Decker, Stephen E

sdecker@mun.ca

 

Foley, Paul

pfoley@mun.ca

 

Galagedara, Lakshman

lgalagedara@mun.ca

 

Gallant, Robert

h79rpg@mun.ca

 

Haghiri, Morteza

mhaghiri@mun.ca

 

Klinke, Andreas

aklinke@mun.ca

 

Krishnapillai, Mano

n62mk@mun.ca

 

Ouellet-Dallaire, Camille

couelletdall@mun.ca

 

Shetranjiwalla, Shegufa

sshetranjiwa@mun.ca

 

Unc, Adrian

aunc@mun.ca

 

Vasilyeva, Olga

ovasilyeva@mun.ca

 

Vodden, Kelly

kvodden@mun.ca

 

Wu, Jianghua

jianghuaw@mun.ca

 

Affiliates at Other Schools of Grenfell Campus

Atkinson, Maggie

ma0437@mun.ca

 

Bodner, John

h63jmb@mun.ca

 

Butler, Kelly Anne

kelly.butler@mun.ca

 

Curtis, Gerard

e2gc@mun.ca

 

Ganz, Shoshannah

sg0721@mun.ca

 

Hengeveld, Robert

rhengeveld@mun.ca

 

Hennessey, J Todd

b2jth@mun.ca

 

Jekanowski, Rachel

rjekanowski@mun.ca

 

Newell, William

r34wjn@mun.ca

 

Okech, Roselyne

ro3185@mun.ca

 

Ride, Peter

pelride@mun.ca

 

Shahidullah, A.K.M.

ashahidullah@mun.ca

 

Wilson, D'Arcy

darcyw@mun.ca

 

Affiliates at Other MUN Campuses

Hawboldt, Kelly Anne

khawboldt@mun.ca

 

Cunsolo, Ashlee

ashlee.cunsolo@mun.ca

 

McGrath, Joseph

sjoseph.mcgrath@gmail.com

Teaching Term Faculty

Ndjiongue, Alain Richard; assistant professor, Engineering ONE

AS 387 | 709.639.4113 | arndjiongue@mun.ca

Per course faculty

Biswal, Rajib

FC 2026 | 639.2548

 

Carter, Ken

Director, Research and Engagement

FC 4024 | 709.637.6265 | h15klc@mun.ca

 

Davis, Tyson

Lab Instructor, Mathematics

AS 318 | 709.639.6523 | z26tcd@mun.ca

 

Garnier, Kevin  (he/him), P. Eng

Director (Interim), Facilities Management and Ancillary Services

AS 280 | 709.639.6530 | Cell 709.632.8060 | t63kmg@mun.ca

 

Rayner-Canham, Geoff

Professor Emeritus and Honorary Research Professor, Environmental Science (Chemistry)

v7grc@mun.ca

 

Skinner, Randy

Per- Course Instructor – Resource Management

AS 308​ | 709.639.2390 | s77rgs@mun.ca

 

Strangemore, Jennifer

Lab Instructor, Mathematics

AS 313 | 709.637.6296 | u7js@mun.ca

 

Wheeler, Deborah

Environmental Science (Chemistry)

u4dw@mun.ca

Staff

Ball, Sandra

Instructional Assistant, Environmental Science (Biology)

AS 219 | 7019.639.2544 | slr586@mun.ca

 

Boland, Tom

Instructional Assistant, Environmental Science (Biology) 

AS 223 | 709.639.2594 | tboland@mun.ca

 

Brown, Emily

Laboratory Instructor, Environmental Science (Biology) 

AS 221 | 709.639.2505 | e4em@mun.ca

 

Butt, Cheryl

Laboratory Instructor, Environmental Science (Biology) 

AS 224 | 709.639.4310 | e37cjb@mun.ca

 

Caines, Allysia

Science Laboratory Supervisor

AS 309 | 709.639.4312 | d36acp@mun.ca

 

Caines, Scott

Science Technician III, Environmental Science (Biology)

AS 226-A | 709.639.2523 | p37scc@mun.ca

 

Coleman, Brian

Administrative Assistant, Environmental Policy Institute

FC 2010-A | 709.639.2591 | k66bjc@mun.ca

 

Davis, Tyson Charles

Laboratory Instructor, Mathematics

AS 318 | 709.639.6523 | z26tcd@mun.ca

 

Day, Steven

Laboratory Instructor – Physics

AS 312 | 709.639.2397 | n27srd@mun.ca

 

Hayden, Victor

Laboratory Instructor, Physics

AS 316 | 709.639.4311 | g19vh@mun.ca

 

Hoque, Azizul

Laboratory Instructor, Physics

AS 317 | 709.639.6494 | snmhoque@mun.ca

 

Parsons, Bobbie-Ann

Science Technician, Environmental Science (Chemistry)

AS 252 | 709.639.2595 | b6bal@mun.ca

 

Perry, Andrew

Instructional Assistant, Environmental Science (Biology) 

AS 209 | 709.637.2186 | aperry@mun.ca

 

Pear, Jane

Science Technician, Environmental Science (Biology)

AS 214 | 709.639.4113 | g16jdb@mun.ca

 

Rodrigues, Silvana

Laboratory Instructor, Environmental Science (Chemistry)

AS 246 | 709.639.6488 | srp112@mun.ca

 

Rolls, Wyn

Laboratory Instructor, Environmental Science/Chemistry

AS 247 | 709.639.2387 | k7war@mun.ca

 

Rose, Glenda

Instructional Assistant, Environmental Science (Chemistry)

AS 248 | 709.639.4330 | grose@mun.ca
 

Walsh, Dara

Laboratory Instructor, Environmental Science (Biology)

AS 218 | 709.637.2194 | p33dlw@mun.ca
 

Yuan, Tao

Research Lab Coordinator, Boreal Ecosystems Research Initiative

FC 1014 | 709.639.4896 | tyuan@mun.ca

Professor Emeritus and Honorary Research Professors

Gunther, Georg

Professor Emeritus

 

Rayner-Canham, Geoff

Professor Emeritus and Honorary Research Professor, Environmental Science (Chemistry)

v7grc@mun.ca

 

Sabau, Gabriela

Honorary Research Professor, Environment and Sustainability (Economics)

AS 270-B | 709.639.2552 | w67gs@mun.ca

Adjunct Professors

Abbey, Lord

Boreal Ecosystems and Agricultural Sciences

labbey@dal.ca

 

Bowden, Joseph

Environmental Science

joseph.bowden@canada.ca

 

Churchill, Doreen

Environmental Science

 

Comeau, Louis-Pierre

Boreal Ecosystems and Agricultural Sciences

louis-pierre.comeau@canada.ca

 

Dagevos, Johannes

Environmental Policy Institute

 

English, Marcia

Boreal Ecosystems and Agricultural Sciences

menglish@stfx.ca

 

Hall, Heather

Environmental Policy Institute

hall@warterloo.ca

 

Hudson, Amy

Environmental Policy Institute

hudsonamy3@gmail.com

 

Lowery, Brennan

Environmental Policy Institute

 

Nadeem, Muhammad

Boreal Ecosystems Research Initiative (BERI)

 

Kelly, Rachael

Environmental Policy Institute

r.kelly@utas.edu.au

 

McKenzie, David

Boreal Ecosystems and Agricultural Sciences

McKenzie@AGR.GC.CA

 

Moise, Eric

General Science

moise@canada.ca 

 

Perez, Mery

Environmental Policy Institute

 

Va Zyll De Jong, Michael

Environmental Policy Institute

M.vanZylldeJong@unb.ca

 

Whittaker, Darroch

Environmental Science

darroch.whitaker@canada.ca

 

Yurgel, Svetlana

Boreal Ecosystems and Agricultural Sciences

syurgel@dal.ca