Our faculty are celebrated across Canada and around the world. But they aren’t just outstanding performers, scholars, and composers; they are also skilled and dedicated educators who are as engaged in teaching as they are in their artistic and research pursuits. This is a potent combination resulting in an environment that is rich in creativity and inspiration, and in which students experience unparalleled mentorship and support.


Composition and Theory

Joe Argentino, theory
Florian Hoefner, jazz theory, elements of music, improvisation
Clark Ross, composition, theory, music technology
Andrew Staniland, composition, electronic music, arranging


Dylan Maddix, instrumental
Jakub Martinec, choral
Vernon Regehr, instrumental


Nathan Cook, chamber music
Florian Hoefner, jazz ensemble
Dylan Maddix, wind ensemble
Jakub Martinec, festival and chamber choirs
Rob Power, percussion ensemble
Vernon Regehr chamber orchestra
Caroline Schiller, opera workshop

Music Education

David Buley


Harris Berger, Director - MMaP, ethnomusicology
Holly Everett
, ethnomusicology, folklore
Meghan Forsyth, ethnomusicology
Jane Gosine, musicology
Kati Szego, ethnomusicology
Cory Thorne, ethnomusicology, folklore
Annalise Smith, musiciology


Karen Bulmer, trombone, euphonium, and tuba
Christine Carter, clarinet and saxophone
Michelle Cheramy, flute 
Annie Corrigan, oboe
Nancy Dahn, violin and viola
Grant Etchegary, bassoon
Jennifer Johnson, violin and body mapping
Heather Kao, violin
Alan Klaus, trumpet and horn
Jane Leibel, voice
Shelley Neville, voice
Mary O'Keeffe, harpsichord
Rob Power, percussion
Kate Read, viola
Vernon Regehr, cello and double bass
Caroline Schiller, voice
Tracy Anne Smith, guitar
Timothy Steeves, piano 

Traditional Music

Jim Payne, accordion, NL folksinging 
Christina Smith, fiddle

Professor Emeritus

Beverley Diamond, ethnomusicology
Tom Gordon, musicology
Maureen Volk, piano
Paul Rice, musicology

Adjunct Professors

Leon Chisholm, historical musicology and organ
Annie Corrigan, oboe
Anna Kearney Guigne, traditional music
Jeffrey van den Scott, musicologies
Mark David Turner, media and performance studies
Curtis Andrews, ethnomusicology (African Music South Indian Music, Ritual music)
Daniel Oore, electronic music
Annalise Smith, musicologies
David Vanderhamm, ethnomusicology

Professional Associate

Friedlind Riedel, ethnomusicology