School of Music

At Memorial University’s School of Music, we are committed to YOUR development. Through our diverse program offerings and rich community-based programs you will have the freedom and opportunity to explore your passions. In our close-knit and supportive community, you will build life-long friendships as you develop the skills and confidence to express yourself - as a musician, as a scholar, and as a global citizen. Our world-class faculty, dedicated staff, and outstanding facilities are committed to helping you create the future you imagine.



Congrats to all the 2023 ECMA Nominees

Congratulations to all the 2023 East Coast Music Award nominees including those in the School of Music community!

Our jazz professor Florian Hoefner is nominated for Instrumental Recording of the Year and Jazz Recording of the Year.

Our composition professor Andrew Staniland is nominated for Classical Composer of the Year and Classical Recording of the Year.

Duo Concertante, made of up faculty members Timothy Steeves and Nancy Dahn, is nominated for Classical Recording of the Year.

Alumna Jing Xia (PhD Ethnomusicology 2022) is nominated for Global Recording of the Year and Roots/Traditional Recording of the Year.

The Kubasonics, featuring alumni Maria Cherwick (MMus 2017) and Matthew Hender (BMus 2008), are nominated for Global Recording of the Year and Roots/Traditional Recording of the Year.

Alumnus Duane Andrews (MMus 2017) is nominated for Jazz Recording of the Year.

Alumna Michelle LaCour (BMus 2013) is nominated for Live Sound Engineer of the Year.

Alumna Mary Beth Waldram (BMus 2011) is nominated for Artist Management of The Year.

The School of Music's Marketing Advisor Danielle Hamel and her project It Could Be Franky is nominated for Electronic Recording of the Year.


Congratulations to all of the talented musicians, composers, and industry professionals in our community!

Retired Music at Memorial faculty member and former Director of Choral Activities, Dr. Douglas Dunsmore, has been appointed to the Order of Canada for his “leadership as a choral conductor and music educator, and for his significant contributions to prominent provincial and national music organizations!”

Dr. Dunsmore left an indelible mark on the School of Music before retiring in 2013, including the development of our graduate program in choral conducting. Among his many roles in the choral community, Dr. Dunsmore was the inaugural director of the Bruneau Centre for Excellence in Choral Music, a founding director of Growing the Voices: Festival 500, and the founding director of the Philharmonic Choir of the Newfoundland Symphony Orchestra. He is currently serving the local choir community as the director of choirs at Gower United Church and director of the Anchormen Barbershop Chorus.

On behalf of your colleagues, students and choristers from your years here at the School of Music, congratulations Dr. Dunsmore on receiving one of our country’s highest honours!

Read the full list of 2022 appointees to the Order of Canada here.

Florian Hoefner

The 2022 MusicNL Award winners were recently announced and we would like to wish a congratulations to all the winners, including those in the School of Music community!

Congratulations to our jazz professor Florian Hoefner who took away two MusicNL awards, Global Music Artist of the Year and Instrumental Artist of the Year.

There was a strong representation of #MusicAtMemorial alumni amongst the MusicNL award winners this year:

Rosemary Lawton Music (BMus 2016, BMusEd 2019) won Celtic/Traditional Artist of the Year and Music Video of the Year. Rosemary's record was produced, engineered and mixed by current Joint BMus/BBA student Clare Follett.
Jing Xia (PhD Ethnomusicology 2022) won Rising Star of the Year.
Maria Cherwick (MMus 2017) and Matthew Hender (BMus 2008) along with their band, The Kubasonics, took home Folk/Roots Artist of the Year.
Carole Bestvater (MMus 2013) took home Country Artist of the Year for her work with Youngtree and The Blooms.
Michelle LaCour (BMus 2013) won Recording Engineer/Producer of the Year.
Mary Beth Waldram (BMus 2011) won Industry Professional of the Year.

We are proud of the many career paths that many of our alumni have taken upon graduation and join their peers in acknowledging their contribution to the music community.