Field Courses

The department of Earth Sciences considers field work to be an essential part of undergraduate training. All students are required to attend at least two field schools: EASC 2905, which is held immediately before the start of the semester of the student's second year and EASC 3905, which is run following the end of the examination period of the winter semester. Other, more specialized field schools based in western and central Newfoundland include EASC 3705, EASC 4105, EASC 4605 and EASC 4905. When offered, special topics field school EASC 4918 often takes students to international locations.

Most of the expenses related to these field schools are covered by the department and through industry sponsorship, but students are required to contribute a modest sum to help defray fixed costs.